Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Top Ten Tuesday #2: Bookmarks

It's Tuesday! Which means; thanks to That Artsy Reader Girl it is another day of awesome top 10 things throughout the bookish world.

The Top This Week Is: Favorite Bookmarks
Between my daughter and I, my bookmarks are all currently in use! So I am showing the photos of the patterns I purchased to make them! I cross-stitched each of them and we have had them about 9 months now. I LOVE them and they hold up pretty well!

         

I am also in the process of making some with bookish quotes on them; as well as the book cover and other things. I am also making some seasonal ones as well! Because who wouldn't love some Christmas Bookish Bookmarks to use while reading some amazing Christmas novels! & there will be ones for other seasons as well!

---------------------------------------------------------------

Discuss With Me!

What is YOUR favorite bookmarks?
Do you make them? Purchase them?
Have a favorite shop you purchase from?
I'd love to hear from you!

Monday, November 11, 2019

Book Review: Secret Words by Miranda P. Charles

Title: At Any Turn (Secret Dreams #1)
by: Miranda P. Charles
Published: Oct. 13, 2013
Source: Purchased by Me
Links: Goodreads | Amazon
When Jasmine Allen met Kane Summers in the unlikeliest of places, she wasn't expecting the swift and immediate attraction she felt for him. But Jasmine had a secret she wasn't at all comfortable sharing with anyone, least of all, the hunky guy who was literally sweeping her off her feet.

Kane Summers was a sucker for damsels in distress. When he found himself wanting to protect Jasmine Allen in more ways than one, the instant chemistry they had for each other hit him squarely in the chest. But Kane's life was complicated, and he wasn't totally free to act on the fascination he felt for her.

Kane and Jasmine were fighting a losing battle to stay away from each other. But circumstances--and certain people--beyond their control were very much intent on keeping them apart.

How could they find their way past secrets and malicious intents to nurture a love that, if given the chance, could last a lifetime?

Thoughts On The Novel:

This book is a first by this author and so far, I love what I am reading! I am always a bit apprehensive when it comes to new authors, because everyone has their own writing style and not everyone’s style is for everyone. However, this book surprised me! I went into with an open mind and I really enjoyed it!

You can tell simply from reading the synopsis that fate, life and everything in between is determined to keep Kane and Jasmine away from each other. Like always; writers have a way of telling fate to shove off and make the readers happy beyond happy (:

Kane is someone you just WANT to read about in a book! He’s an Alpha, he has a protective side, a heart the size of gold and a past that he’d rather not talk about and issues that complicate his life more than he would like. To him, chivalry is never dead. As much as he tries to stay away from her – he has this urge to SAVE her.. With secrets of his own, I doubt he knew just what he was getting into.

Jasmine has secrets of her own. Actually, a secret LIFE of her own that she would rather no one find out about. The attraction she feels with Kane is different than any attractions he’s felt before. She knows she should stay away from him.. It’s never a good idea to get to close with a secret like hers, but she can’t help herself! Little does she know what SHE is getting into.

In a way, despite secrets, drama, lies and everything in between – I think the two were meant for each other! This is a short, fast paced read and I completely loved it! It literally keep me page turning until the very end! Mostly because I am impatient and refused to set the book down with so many secrets to discover, but it was well worth it! If you haven’t read this one yet, I highly suggest you look into it!

Broken Soul Rating


--------------------------------------------

Discuss With Me!

What did you think after reading the review?
Have you read this novel before?
Read anything by this author before?
Is it something you will add to your TBR list?
I'd love to hear from all of you!

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Sunday Post #3: Catching My Breath


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme. Be sure to take a few mins to visit other blogs taking part! You never know what kind of bookish things you'll learn or like-minded friends you will make!

---------------------------------------------------------------
Okay; So. If you stopped in last week; you know my dad had a heart attack and things were kind of all over the place. He actually ended up having double bypass on Wednesday and is recovering nicely! The surgeon said both arteries are looking way better than they ever could and that he doesn't see any issues with his recovery. The nurses and his doctor say he is actually recovering quicker than most who have this surgery; so I'd say that is a plus! He is still in the hospital; so I am still spending my days with school; the kids school; after school things; homework for them and myself; keeping them alive, fed and in one piece; making sure the mister doesn't think I've forgotten about him & spending as much time at the hospital as I can manage... With that said; because of ALL OF THAT, I didn't get a lot accomplished on the blog last week; but I thought I might get a pass for that (;

Things are slightly calmer this upcoming week; but just slightly. My school started back up; so classes and school work are kicking my butt. I'm currently in school EMT, but I am working on getting accepted for Paramedic (which I have to complete EMT and Advanced EMT first) - but it's like applying for school all over again; WHILE I am currently in school. And they only pick a certain number of people and goodness does it get overwhelming sometimes! I need a coffee, or 12.

We are taking the kids, along with one of my friends and her family to see ICE! this upcoming weekend, which will be fun! We go every year, so I need this sort of break right now. I didn't get as much reading in last week as I would have liked; but I am working on my #HoHoHo Readathon (info on the right sidebar!) and I am working on my #ASeriesAMonth Challenge as well!
I hope everyone had a fantastic week!

Last Week on Broken Souls

♡ ♡ Book Review: At Any Turn by Brenna Aubrey
♡ ♡ Ho-Ho-Ho Readathon!
♡ ♡ Bookish New Year's Challenge - A challenge I am doing this Jan!


This Week on Broken Souls

♡ ♡ The Billionaire’s Ward by Leslie North (Book Review)
♡ ♡ Top Ten Tuesday
♡ ♡ Twisted Surprise Emery Jacobs (Book Blitz)
♡ ♡ Under Pressure (Body Armor #1) by Lori Foster (Book Reivew)
♡ ♡ #WinterCOYER - Participation Post
♡ ♡ Sunday Post


Fun Things I Got This Week

I didn't get any new books this week; since I was busy getting my butt kicked with life!
I did manage to make a Bookish New Year's Challenge for anyone interested in joining!

Broken Soul Reviews

Interesting Things In The Bookish World

click the image to check out the fun!


Join In On The Sunday Fun!

Stop in and check out all the other Sunday Post!
You never know what you might find hopping from blog to blog!
You can find all the other participants AT THIS LINK -- have fun!

Saturday, November 9, 2019

Bookish New Year's Challenge


It's almost that time! A time to begin a brand new year of bookish insanity!
I thought this challenge would be a good way for us to reflect on the last year - make some goals and talk about the upcoming year - motivate each other and have some good ol' fashioned fun while doing so! & who knows; you may find you made some super awesome new friends in the process!

This challenge will run from Jan 1st - Jan 15th.
There will be a linky post on each of my post for the day; that you can add your link from that day; so other's can visit!
Nothing too hard about this at all! I wanted it to be simple; but fun. Each day there will be a prompt for you to post on your blog. Just answer the prompt and enjoy the discussions that come from it! Don't forget to blog hop to other blogs to join in with everyone participating. You never know what you may learn when visiting other people! You may very well find your next book boyfriend; or favorite read!

The prompts are all posted below.
I also have graphics for each day for those interested!
Feel free to grab the button at the bottom to use on your blog to help spread the word!
The main graphic at the top of this page is also for you to use on your post if you would like; or like I said - I will gladly share the daily graphics for anyone who ask! Just shoot me an email; a message on twitter; something and I will get them over to you :)

Interested in Joining?

Just sign up on the linky below!
I will send out a reminder email a week before hand.
(I will most likely include all graphics, including the daily ones, in this email!)

The Prompts:

♡♡ Day 1: 2020 Book Blogging Goals
♡♡ Day 2: Best & Worst Reads of 2019
♡♡ Day 3: Must Have Reads of 2020
♡♡ Day 4: Favorite Blogging Moment of 2019
♡♡ Day 5: TBR Shelf: 2019 Progress & 2020 Starting Point
♡♡ Day 6: Blogger Background Noise (Music; Podcast; TV; Screaming Children; The Apocalypse?)
♡♡ Day 7: Favorite Book to Movie adaptation of 2019?
♡♡ Day 8: Read-A-Thons: Yes or No? Do any in 2019? Planning to in 2020?
♡♡ Day 9: Physical Copies or E-Books?
♡♡ Day 10: Blogger Orginaztion: (Google Calendar; Planner; Bullet Journal, etc.)
♡♡ Day 11: Favorite Book Boyfriend of 2019
♡♡ Day 12: Reading Challenges: (Do any in 2019? Any favorites? Looking forward to some in 2010?)
♡♡ Day 13: Authors You Discovered in 2019?
♡♡ Day 14: Your Reading Ritual
♡♡ Day 15: 10 Book Suggestions (Books you love and want to share with others!)

Share The News:

Feel free to CLICK THE TWEET BELOW to help spread the word!!
Tweet: I am taking part in the Bookish New Year's Challenge hosted by @ABrokenSoulGirl - are you?! Sign up and join in on the fun today!
https://reviewsbrokensoul.blogspot.com/2019/11/bookish-new-years-challenge.html

Broken Soul Reviews


Sign Up:

Interested in joining? Sign up below!
Don't forget to drop a comment letting me know you signed up!
I look forward to seeing everyone's post during this challenge!



Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Ho-Ho-Ho Readathon!


Caffeinated Reviewer has decided to host this lovely event! Be sure to click the image above to see others signed up or sign up yourself! I think it's going to be an awesome way to squeeze some Christmas/Winter themed novels in, since those are my FAVORITE kind of novels!

What I Plan To Read


You can see them on my Goodreads Shelf to get a better look!
My plan is to get all 5 read, but I will be happy with just getting 3 in!
I'm also looking forward to all the other fun that comes with this :)



Monday, November 4, 2019

Book Review: At Any Turn by Brenna Aubrey

Title: At Any Turn (Gaming the System #2)
by: Brenna Aubrey
Published: April 15, 2014
Published By: Silver Griffon Associates
Source: Purchased by Me
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
So You Want to Be a Hero?

Millionaire CEO Adam Drake, overcame a tortured past to build his own gaming empire. He’s in complete control of his life. With his new found love for brilliant geek girl blogger, Mia Strong, the last piece of his life is in place. He's at the top of his game.

Your Princess Is in Another Castle.

Until suddenly, she withdraws from him, leaving him in the dark. Something tells him she needs help. But she's too stubborn or scared to ask for it, and the more he tries to take control, the further he pushes her away. He can’t solve this problem by writing a check or a few lines of code.

He’ll have to dig deep and put himself at risk... or risk losing her forever.

Thoughts On The Novel:

So if anyone saw my review for Book #1 in this series - you know that this was off to a fantastic start! I fell in love with Mia and Adam and even the secondary characters. So I jumped right into the next book to see where this story would take us. I can tell you that some of this I didn't expect, but some of it I should have seen coming! I'm not sad that their story was continued, because I was not at all ready to give them up! In a way - a part of me thinks that Any Any Price would have stood alone all on its own - but in times like these; I can see why the author wanted to keep their story going.

I was a man on fire and the only way to smother the flames was to dive in and drown in her.
While this one didn't strike the heart like the first one did, I still liked it in its own way. Unlike the first novel, this story was told from Adam's point of view, which was pretty exciting for me! I love them the point of views are mixed up. I like seeing the inner working of everyone's mind when things are going on. Adam is a little closed off and slightly hard to get to know and figure out, so this was a great addition for us readers!

Adam and Mia are together - officially - in this one and their story picks up not long after the other ends. More often than not, most people believe happily ever after comes from uttering the words "I love you." In real life, and in this novel, that is just not the case most times. It seems as though things for Mia and Adam are about to start getting really and the true testing of their relationship is really about to come into play. I will give the author super credit here - she kept the previous friendships alive as well. While I couldn't understand where Heath was coming from half the time in this novel, I believe it would have been a let down had he not been in this one as well.

With her, it was like being engrossed in a full-immersion virtual reality, an experience unique to itself. There was no life before Emilia.
This novel took us on a turn that I DID NOT want to go on - but I could see how it built things up to give us things our hearts were really yearning for. I loved this ride that is Mia and Adam's relationship. I like that this isn't an insta-love novel, but one that is a journey that we get to follow along with as they discover who they are, how they fit together and handle every single thing life feels the need to throw at them. While I feel that some things could have been handled differently, I feel that overall this story was smooth flowing. It didn't reach me as much as the first one did - but I am already on book three and I can promise you it is worth the ride! I look forward to seeing how everything pans out with these two!

Broken Soul Rating


--------------------------------------------

Discuss With Me!

What did you think after reading the review?
Have you read this novel before?
Read anything by this author before?
Is it something you will add to your TBR list?
I'd love to hear from all of you!

Sunday, November 3, 2019

Sunday Post #2: Insanity


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme. Be sure to take a few mins to visit other blogs taking part! You never know what kind of bookish things you'll learn or like-minded friends you will make!

---------------------------------------------------------------
It's been a crazy hectic week around here! We had a crazy storm come through that decided to throw some trees on a car my dad was driving that had him and my daughter in it. I got the phone call; made it to them in record time and it took about 20 mins to get them out of the passenger side window because we couldn't get any of the doors open. Both were okay; just shaken up. Our apartment took some damage; those 70mph winds really did some damage! The hubby's car took a slight beating from some trashcans; but aside from that, everyone is okay!

Halloween went on as planned; complete with more wind and freezing temps. I tried to talk the kids into staying home (one is 13 and one is 6) but that was a no go. So off we went. We stayed out for about 2 hours until they both said they were tired and called it a night. Wouldn't you know - the next morning; both woke up coughing; with sore throats and fevers. I guess we could call that a mommy fail; but they were so excited to go; I just couldn't say no!

& to top the week off, because Murphy's Law and everything; I spent Saturday in the hospital with my dad who had a heart attack. Found out he has 2 of his 3 heart arteries with complete blockages and the 3rd is trying in vain to catch up to the first two. He is going to have to have double bypass sometime next week; I'll find out exactly when on tomorrow or Monday. Being a nurse myself; I know all of the crazy crap that can happen during surgeries, especially with someone who has other health conditions, which he does. So, stressful; anxiety filled; scary times around here right now!

Last Week on Broken Souls


♡ ♡ Series In A Month Challenge HAS OFFICIALLY STARTED!
♡ ♡ Book Review: Exception by Mariah Dietz 4/5 Stars
♡ ♡ Top Ten Tuesday
♡ ♡ Cover Reveal KISS ME WITH LIES by S.M. Soto
♡ ♡ Book Blogger Hop Favorite Classic Book!
♡ ♡ Book Review: At Any Price by Brenna Aubrey

This Week on Broken Souls


♡ ♡ At Any Turn by Brenna Aubrey (Book Review)
♡ ♡ Edge of Reason by J. Saman (Release Blitz)
♡ ♡ Top Ten Tuesday
♡ ♡ The Billionaire’s Ward by Leslie North (Book Review)
♡ ♡ Table Talk Thursday (A Weekly Meme I am working on!)

-- I may add more during the week; depending on how things go with the doctors and my dad!

Fun Things I Got This Week

Purchased Myself for "Series in a Month" Challenge!
--- See them all on Goodreads! ---

                       

From Authors/Netgalley For Review
--- ZED from Netgalley - all others from Author ---

               


Join In On The Sunday Fun!

Stop in and check out all the other Sunday Post!
You never know what you might find hopping from blog to blog!
You can find all the other participants AT THIS LINK -- have fun!